Playing jokes on us

Standard

One thing Lara has is a sense of humor. I think you’d have to have a good sense of humor to be 15 years old and  travel halfway around the world to live with a family you don’t know for 10 months! Afterall, if you were a serious kind of person, it migth be a little hard to accept all the different things that come your way.

Lara’s showing her sense of humor lately with practical jokes. For example, the other day Terry and I were at the Sam’s Club pharmacy to pick up prescriptions. We went their right after the the doctor’s office. Lara sent me a text while we were waiting for the prescriptions to be filled.

Her text said, “Did you guys just go to Sam’s Club Pharmacy?”

I couldn’t figure out how she knew that so I replied, “Yes. Where are you?”

She replied, “At home. I can read your mind. It’s going to cost about $9.”

I asked, “What? Where are you? What is $9?”

She said, “The medicine.”

I said, “Oh no.”

At that point, I was really confused. Terry and I were looking around the store wondering if she was in the store with one of our older daughters, Amber. We thought maybe Amber got off work, came to the house and went to Sam’s Club with Lara.  And I was really curious as to how she guessed two prescriptions and the price. We were also getting two over-the-counter medications so I tried to figure out how she knew what we were doing.

She then texted, “But you got 2 medicines.”

My reply, “No we are getting 4. That’s it! Where are you?”

She’s a little too smart for her own good sometimes. Her answer was, “But you have to pick up 2 later, right?’

I wanted to get her off track, so I answered. “No. What am I doing now?”

Her reply, “I don’t know, trying food, driving home, buying stuff?”

My text was, “If you can read my mind you should know.”

She said, “It takes a lot of power to do it and my power has to load.”

Terry and I laughed… and couldn’t wait to get home to see what she was doing and how she knew what we were doing. We walked in the door and said, “OK, smarty pants. How did you know what we were doing?”

She was laughing with a quirky little smile on her face and said, ‘Was I right? Did you get 2 prescriptions? And they were $9.37?”

I said, “Maybe.”

With that, she went to the house phone answering machine and hit the play button. We heard a recording from Sam’s Club Pharmacy telling us 2 prescriptions were ready for $9.37. Even though we were in the store waiting, their automated system dialed our phone. We all laughed pretty hard. And Lara was in the room when they called and heard the whole message!

After that, Lara kept holding up her hand to give us a High-five while saying, “That was a good one, wasn’t it?”

Ok… I admit it…. it was a pretty good trick. 🙂

About schreinerrealty

I'm a Realtor, Property Manager ad Owner of a Real Estate Brokerage, Schreiner Realty. I'm a Mother of 2, stepmother of 3, and now a Host Mother of a German Exchange Student. I am an avid volunteer in our community, involved in networking groups including Women's Council of Realtors and Women of Faith in Business. I spent 16-years in TV News as a Producer/Anchor/Reporter/Newsroom Manager and still participate in free-lance Producing Projects.

Leave a Reply

