When being an Exchange Student gets you in the door

Standard

Sometimes mentioning that Lara is an Exchange Student has it’s perks.  I mean, I don’t want to use it all the time but I see how it can help us in a bind.

On Friday, at about 3:50pm, Lara realized she didn’t have her wallet. A look of fear came over her face when she told me.  She thought she had left it at school, in her locker after dance class… but she wasn’t 100% sure. She said there was a chance she may have left it in the locker room.. Us ladies know the feeling when we leave our purse somewhere. Now imagine, being in another country, with all of your legal ID and source for paying for anything, and the chance it may be gone!

I called the school, hoping someone would still be there on a Friday afternoon, to see if we could get into the locker room. I knew the odds were not good. A student answered the phone in the office. Without going through the explanation that Lara was from Germany and everything was in her wallet, I simply said, “Our daughter left her wallet in her locker and I’d like to know if it’s too late to come get it.” He said they were just locking up but he would ask.  Then he put me on hold.

That’s when Brittany, my daughter who is in the same grade as Lara, said, “Mom, don’t say she’s your daughter. They will tell you it can wait till Monday. You have to tell them she’s an Exchange Student or you won’t get anywhere.” Hmmm…. I thought… she’s got a point.

When the student came back on the phone, he told me exactly what Brittany said he would… that they were locking up and it can wait till Monday.  So… I had to pull the “she’s an Exchange Student” excuse. Just as Brittany assumed… the student said, “Oh, that’s different. Hang on, you need to talk to someone else!” Ha! Go figure!

He came back on the phone and transferred my call. I explained the situation to the staff member and she bent over backwards to help me. She called the Custodian, told him I would be at the school in 10 minutes, where to meet me and to unlock the locker room doors for us! Wow! It worked!

When we got there, the Custodian was at the entrance where we needed to get in, was very nice and opened the locker room for us. Lara ran to her locker, opened the combination lock and there… under her notebook… was her wallet…old and tattered, worn out from years and years of use! The biggest smile came onto her face and so much relief went away!

Poor thing was in tears before that… so worried about having to cancel credit cards and getting new German ID when she’s in America! So many things for a 15-year-old, on the other side of the world, to think about!

 

When we got in the car, we called Brittany right away! She saved the day! Leave it to another kid to think the opposite of adults!

Morale of the story… sometimes… just sometimes…we’re just going to have pull the “She’s a German Exchange Student” excuse to get what we need. I promise we won’t take advantage of it… but it’s nice to know it works in an emergency. 🙂

About schreinerrealty

I'm a Realtor, Property Manager ad Owner of a Real Estate Brokerage, Schreiner Realty. I'm a Mother of 2, stepmother of 3, and now a Host Mother of a German Exchange Student. I am an avid volunteer in our community, involved in networking groups including Women's Council of Realtors and Women of Faith in Business. I spent 16-years in TV News as a Producer/Anchor/Reporter/Newsroom Manager and still participate in free-lance Producing Projects.

Leave a Reply

