A Sister’s Bond

Standard

We’ve only known Lara, our German Exchange Student, for 19 days… and every day the family bond with us gets stronger. I noticed a little more of a sisterly bond the other day between Lara and our daughter Brittany.

Let me start with Lara coming home from school.  I knew she had some sad news from back home and told her to check her Facebook message from her Mother. After she read it, I hugged her and let her think about it for a little while. Travis and Brittany felt bad for her too but weren’t sure what to say to her. About 30 minutes later, she was back downstairs and mingling with us. I was making her chocolate chip cookies to help cheer her up.  She went straight for the batter! Typical teen!

Meanwhile, Brittany has been sick. Turns out she has strep throat, but we didn’t know that the other day… the same day Lara got some sad news. Brittany was running a high fever and miserable. Earlier in the day, Lara had texted me from school, “What’s with Brit?” She was worried about her new American sister.

In the evening, when Brittany’s fever was 102 degrees, Lara was trying to explain to me a procedure she’s heard of to bring fevers down.  She ran to her laptop, typed it in German and then hit the translator button so I could read it in English. It explained how to use a warm, wet towel… 10 degrees lower than the fever temperature…and wrap it around the calf, then wrap a dry towel around it. It said to do this 3 times for 10-minutes each time. I told Lara it couldn’t hurt so she jumped into action!

I gave her two towels. She got one wet and made sure the temperature was just right. She wrapped it around Brittany’s leg, then the dry one and told me we had to wait 10 minutes. I set the timer on the microwave. When the timer went off, Lara took the towels off and repeated. This time, she even set the timer herself. I figured I wasn’t really needed for another 20 minutes or so because Lara had it under control!

After the third time, Brittany’s temperature had gone down. Not sure of it was the towel routine or the Ibuprofen kicking in. But it didn’t really matter, did it? I saw something special happening that night. A Sister’s Bond was developing.

In the end, I realized both Brittany and Lara felt sorry for each other in the same day…within just a few hours of each other.  And although they don’t have to talk about it… I do. It truly warmed my heart.

 

About schreinerrealty

I'm a Realtor, Property Manager ad Owner of a Real Estate Brokerage, Schreiner Realty. I'm a Mother of 2, stepmother of 3, and now a Host Mother of a German Exchange Student. I am an avid volunteer in our community, involved in networking groups including Women's Council of Realtors and Women of Faith in Business. I spent 16-years in TV News as a Producer/Anchor/Reporter/Newsroom Manager and still participate in free-lance Producing Projects.

One response »

Leave a Reply

