Americans ask Germans the darnest things!

Standard

Life with Lara, our German Exchange Student, continues with a daily question to her… “So, what did kids ask you about today?” The answers are quite amusing…and sometimes…even a little embarrassing for us!

Our little game started the first day we went to School with Lara. We were waiting in the Office after checking in with the Secretary when we heard an interesting conversation between a couple of girls who were also in the Office. One girl said, “I want to be an exchange Student.” The other one said, “Me too.” Then the other one responded with, “I want to go to L.A.”  Seriously? I thought I was going to fall off my chair laughing!

Later, Lara said she heard the comment too and laughed. She said she was warned, during her Orientations, that she will hear some strange questions. And so, the journey began for her to share what people ask her.

 One student asked if there were trees in Germany. She’s from another  country. Not another planet! So funny!

Another asked if there were highways. Hmmm… there IS the  Autobahn. http://www.german-autobahn.eu/

The other day a girl asked if they speak German in Germany. Lara said, “Of course. Do you speak English in America?” She says she answers with a smile and giggles.

Another person asked her how long she was going to be here. She told them the whole school year. They asked if she was going to go back to Germany after that. She told them, “Yes”. They asked, “Why?” She told them, “Because that’s where my family and friends live.”

One person asked if they had different cars in Germany. With companies like BMW, Mercedes Benz and Volkswagon… it’s hard to imagine anything else there, but there are.

We were told by our Coordinator that many Foreign Exchange Students don’t have things like school buses or peanut butter and are very excited to experience those for the first time. Not Lara! She looked at me like I was crazy as the rest. She lives outside of Hamburg, Germany in a very large town so they basically have everything we have here! Stupid me!

I did, however, have one up on her! She kept scraping her plate into the trash can. she quickly realized we were not. She told me they do not have “that thing in the sink”… a disposal. They do recycle though, and their system is more specific than ours.

Today, she was using a flash drive to copy pictures from my computer. I moved my chair out of the way and she took over the keyboard to get the pictures in the file she needed. She was faster than me at doing that. I just couldn’t resist the inside joke we have and asked her, “Do you have computers in Germany?” We both busted out laughing loudly!

She promises to share with us the things other students ask her. On Friday, she will be asked by many if they have Pep Assemblies in GErmany, since the first one at her American High School is today. By the way…they do not. They don’t have a school mascot or colors either.

I promise to continue to share the stupid things WE ask her!

About schreinerrealty

I'm a Realtor, Property Manager ad Owner of a Real Estate Brokerage, Schreiner Realty. I'm a Mother of 2, stepmother of 3, and now a Host Mother of a German Exchange Student. I am an avid volunteer in our community, involved in networking groups including Women's Council of Realtors and Women of Faith in Business. I spent 16-years in TV News as a Producer/Anchor/Reporter/Newsroom Manager and still participate in free-lance Producing Projects.

Leave a Reply

