Tuna Fish Pizza, Chocolate…and other German food lessons!

Standard

We’ve learned some interesting things from Lara, our German Exchange Student, when it comes to foods in Germany versus America!

The sweetest story first…Chocolate!!! Lara couldn’t bring German Chocolate in her luggage so she mailed it to us before she left home. It arrived in our mailbox Thursday… in Phoenix… in the summer… when it’s 110 degrees!!! Do I need to say more???

When we opened the packages they were quite soft! Actually… they were mushy!!! Lara took them to the freezer immediately! But today… it was time to break it out and sample it. Oh my goodness!! Amazing!!! Fantastic!!! Delectable!!! So much better than anything I’ve had in America!!! Almost comparable to Godiva chocolate… almost… but smoother!

There are three packages left… Banana Kiss, Praline and Pfirsich Melba… not sure what the last one means….but my mouth says it doesn’t really matter… it’s delicious! The first package is gone between all of us. It was like a Nestle Crunch bar.  Lara says the Banana Kiss chocolate had designs stamped on it… but it was all smoothed out after the mass melting in the Phoenix heat!  According to Facebook comments on my post about German chocolate, anyone who has had it has the same love for it as we do!! It was so sweet for Lara and her mother to send us the chocolate even before she met our family in person! It says a lot about people who do such nice things!

After today’s chocolate tasting festival… I decided dinner was going to be Pizza… before we headed out to Wonderama Theatre in Tempe for a comedy show. I know what kind of Pizza my kids like, so I asked Lara what she preferred. I was expecting to hear Sausage or Bacon. Nope. Instead… her answer surprised me so much, I had to ask a couple times if I heard correctly. Yep… I did! Tuna Fish! Yes…. Tuna Fish Pizza! Lara quickly went to the internet and Pizza restaurants in Germany so she could prove to me there was such a thing! I informed her that American Pizza restaurants did NOT offer Tuna Fish Pizza. In fact… the general reaction I got from everyone I told was “Eeeeewwww”.

Well…. time to make a fool out of me!!! LOL!!! Little did I know … until the writing of this entry… that Tuna Fish Pizza IS in America. In fact, go ahead and Google it! There are pages of recipes for Tuna Fish Pizza. And one of them…. is titled… California Pizza! Here’s just one link I found from Starkist!!!

http://starkist.com/recipe/california-style-pizza?gclid=CPaalIKR3aoCFUFjTAodKhCD7g

Boy…. do I feel like a stupid American! LOL!!!

Another food Lara likes is Nutella. I’ve heard of it. I think I’ve seen a commercial of it. So I bought it. She loves it on her toast for breakfast and says people in Germany love it…as it originated from Germany and Italy.

http://www.nutellausa.com/history.htm

My son is eating it by spoonfuls. Brittany and I are afraid it’s too rich for our acid reflux stomachs. I think it might set Terry’s Type 2 Diabetes out of control! And it’s not for the low-sugar diet. 100 calories per tablespoon!

And as I read through the cookbook Lara gave us… it appears many dishes are made with Potatoes and Bacon. We just bought our first bag of potatoes since Christmas… due to it’s high carbs and Terry’s Diabetes. Bacon is OK occasionally… but not in everything!

Not sure how this gal stays so thin with foods like Chocolate, Potatoes, Bacon…and Nutella…as some of her favorites!

About schreinerrealty

I'm a Realtor, Property Manager ad Owner of a Real Estate Brokerage, Schreiner Realty. I'm a Mother of 2, stepmother of 3, and now a Host Mother of a German Exchange Student. I am an avid volunteer in our community, involved in networking groups including Women's Council of Realtors and Women of Faith in Business. I spent 16-years in TV News as a Producer/Anchor/Reporter/Newsroom Manager and still participate in free-lance Producing Projects.

Leave a Reply

